Alternate content for script

Dorothy Richardson Award for Resident Leadership

Celebrating Resident Leadership

For more than 20 years, the Dorothy Richardson Award for Resident Leadership has been bestowed annually in recognition of outstanding contributions by dedicated community leaders. Honorees have invested their energies and talents to bring about specific change that positively impacts their neighborhoods and communities. Each of their stories and photos represents an important piece of our NeighborWorks history and serves as an example of what each of us can do for our community.

Origins of the Award

The award is named in honor of Dorothy Richardson, a pioneer in the community-based development movement who was the driving force behind the establishment of Neighborhood Housing Services, Inc. in Pittsburgh, the forerunner of today's NeighborWorks network.
"I believe people get their roots down when they own their houses...take pride in them. That, in turn, is good for a whole city."   - Dorothy Richardson

Richardson and her neighbors banded together in the 1960s to save their declining Pittsburgh neighborhood from demolition. They recruited partners in local government and the business community. Together, they not only helped revitalize their community, but also set a precedent that changed the nation's approach to urban redevelopment and spawned the new field of community-based development.

2017 Honoree Profiles

2017 honorees
Marie Miller stands in front of a Salvation Army signMarie Miller
Nuestra Communidad

In the news, it's common to see police and residents at odds. But this police officer sees it as her job to build trust among the most vulnerable residents: senior citizens. And for her work, she received a Dorothy Richardson Award for Resident Leadership. Read Marie's story.

Pastor Clegg sits in the pews at his churchRich Clegg
NeighborWorks Southern New Hampshire

This 2017 Dorothy Richardson Resident Leadership honoree is a "pastor on a mission"--both with foster children and in distressed communities. Read Rich's story.

Gwyn Guidy sits on a bench in the parkGwyn Guidy

This Florida resident was taught that one person can't make a difference. But she has proven the power of one, and has earned the Dorothy Richardson Award for Resident Leadership in return. Read Gwyn's story.

Ana RodriguezAna Rodriguez
Lawrence CommunityWorks

Ana Rodriguez spent her childhood without roots in any one community. That's why now, she invests so much of herself in her adopted home town, including advocating for the mentally and physically challenged. In recognitioni of her work, she has earned the Dorothy Richarson Award for Resident Leadership. Read Ana's story.

Erika Cooper wears a yellow shirt and stands outsideJanet Troutman Simmons

At 90 years old, Janet Troutman Simmons hasn't slowed down; in fact, she has won the Dorothy Richardson Resident Leadership Award for steadfastly fighting for affordable housing for all. Read Janet's story.

Maxine WoodsideMaxine Woodside
CDC of Tampa

For Maxine Delores Hill Woodside, of Tampa, Florida, adversity at a young age bred inspiration and a burning desire to help others. Her good works have earned her the Dorothy Richardson Award for Resident Leadership. Read Maxine's story.

Resident Leadership Honoree Archives

2016 honorees
2015 honorees
2014 honorees
2013 honorees
2012 honorees
2011 honorees
2010 honorees